Tags

, ,


Recently, Yahoo.com promoted their new mail domain. They introduced [userID]@ymail.com and [userID]@rocketmail.com. As I read on several sources, rocketmail, which was owned by Four 11, was one of the first free e-mail services before acquired by Yahoo in 1997. Ymail, hmmm….is it Y(ahoo)mail? Is it intended to be a strong competitor for G(oogle)Mail? Hmmm…interesting…

Yahoo explained that the new domains were added because many desirable e-mail addresses have already been taken for the yahoo.com domain, as well as for localized versions of the namespace in countries around the world.

If we want specific userID which already owned by other user, maybe we should consider this offer. For example, I want to have “blackluna” or “black.luna” as my ID, but this ID (under yahoo) already owned by other users. So, I tried to sign in this service. Alhamdulillah, “black.luna” were not registered yet. When I check the interface, well it’s 100% yahoo.com. I mean no significant change on this. You don’t need to learn anything if you already familiar with yahoomail services before.

How to sign up this new domain? Just go to mail.yahoo.com and sign up. In the domain field drop box, you can choose yahoo.com, ymail.com or rocketmail.com. Then, I thought about this. If this service under yahoo, Can I use their another service, such as Yahoo messenger? The answer is “Yes, you can”. Just fill username box with your [userID] followed with its domain. Example: [UserID]@ymail.com or [UserID]@rocketmail.com. Just see the screenshot if you confused.

yahoo messenger

yahoo messenger

My personal opinion, yahoo should raise their awareness for killing spam. I start migrating to gmail this July for above reason. I’m tired separating my mails from disgusting spam by myself. :(

